Mix and match

Strength
5/3/1+ Bench Press 135# for 6 reps
5/3/1+ Deadlift 127kgs for 1 rep

Olympic Lifting
Snatch practice 60kgs

I almost decided to be a lazy bastard and sleep out the tremendous heat that is Manila (shameful for a local, I know) but I got a sudden burst of energy and decided to head out before laziness got the better of me. I’m looking at my numbers for the bench press and I may need to be a bit more consistent on what weight I lift. Last time I did it I went for bigger numbers and it felt ok. This time, when it should have gone up, I ended up lifting lower weights (following the correct calculations). That basically means it is all screwed up and I am not following the programming. I simply estimated my 1RM last time around and I think I was a bit off on that.

If you’ve noticed, my deadlift numbers are in kgs. That is because the only place I could do deadlifts was the Olympic lifting area. As they only had kg plates in 15s 20s and 25s, I had to use the lbs plates to make up the remaining poundage or kilos (whichever you prefer). I psyched myself to do 2-3 lifted it, thought it was a bit heavy and just pushed through. It was a ‘slow’ one and had a bit of wobbly knees moment. I gave it a bit more thought as to why it felt heavier than expected, and was even contemplating on doing it again as I should be able to lift it at least 2 times. Then it hit me, redid the math and ended up loading 127kgs on the bar instead of the intended 114kgs! Unintended PB!

It was then on to the Olympic lifting session and I screwed this one up as well. I didn’t warm-up properly despite sweating bullets at this point. I failed on every single attempt on the 60kgs. I think it was a combination of the heat, new shoes (I believe the dynamics of my movements changed a bit wearing the Oly shoes) and not going through the different components of the move properly (I think I was lacking the explosion from pockets and I wasn’t aggressive on the second pull). I will consider doing snatches again next time I come in, or do something else.

One thought on “Mix and match

Leave a Reply

