24 hour gym

Strength
5/3/1+ Press 105# @ 5 (pull ups in between)
5/3/1+ Squat 245# @ 3

Olympic Lifting
Clean and Jerk practice 60kgs

I decided to get a 5 visit pass to Eclipse 24/7 gym here in Shaw as it is the closest facility to where I’m staying which would suit my needs best. I wasn’t really sure what the vibe was of the place, for sure it wasn’t a normal ‘globo gym’ nor was it a ‘bakal gym’ or a Crossfit facility. But they did have loads of power cages, kettlebells and an area for Olympic lifting/metcon.

I loved the fact that were around 6 or more power racks that you could press, bench press or squat in and I think I would be using those a lot. I do think that their pins needed a bit more improvement as I wasn’t sure if I was in the hooks or not. Their lifting bars felt that the knurling has almost gone, maybe it was just the sweat beading off me (no air conditioning unit that I could see, although it didn’t feel stuffy at all).

I still managed to do more than expected on my lifts and managed to up my estimated 1RM numbers, even though I had to convert kilograms to pounds.

I decided to give the ‘Olympic lifting area’ a go. I got confused here as their bumper plates seemed to be in kgs, while their non Olymic plates were in pounds. It would have been better if things were consistent (I don’t mind lbs vs kgs, so long as they stick to one system). At first I was hesitant to drop the bar, as I felt I was already standing out being the only guy doing Olympic lifts (with my near new Reebok CrossFit Oly shoes). But as I got tired, I dumped the bars and nobody was alarmed or anything which is a good sign. One thing I wasn’t comfortable with was there were a couple of guys lounging around real close to me yapping about something or other while I was doing the lifts which is quite distracting. I’m still not sure how I can do metcons in the area with folks going about their business around me and not aware of what I’m doing, health and safety and all.

In any case it was a good first session and it is a huge bonus that they do operate 24/7 as I have a bit of leeway in terms of scheduling my gym session.

Leave a Reply

