The mind of a Crossfitter

Strength
5×5 Deadlift as heavy as possible 100kg
then
3×3 Jerk 60kg

WOD
7 rounds
7 KB front squats (2x24kgs)
100m Farmers walk

Still a bit down from the 13.2 revelation, but work has to get done. I stayed a little on the safe side of 100kgs on the deadlift when I think I could have pushed to 110kg if needed but my back is still a bit funny. 100kgs felt ok though, so that is encouraging.

I recently bought a pair of Reebok Crossfit Oly shoes and tried them out for the Jerk session. It felt different on the clean as I feel like my feet are glued to the ground. Not sure if that is good or bad so I’ll keep an eye out for that one, maybe I need to concentrate on the landing and triple extension. The split jerk felt great however, very solid on the landing especially the front foot.

The WOD looked easy but the farmer’s walk took it’s toll on me. Physically it wasn’t that demanding, but the pressure on your grip then shoulders start to eat at you and you end up dropping the bells. I knew I was stopping more than I should. I don’t know why I wasn’t pushing more or resting less. It was more evident during the front squats. While I was able to do unbroken front squats (except for 1 round), Socs mentioned I was resting too much. I probably was, I might need to take a video of myself working out the next few weeks so I can dissect what needs improvement. An objective critical view should do me good, I hope.

I’ve been out mentally the past few days, too much going on in life I guess. Huge thanks to the guys who cheered me on, makes a hell of a lot of difference when that inner voice tells you it’s too hard and you’re too tired.

Leave a Reply

