13.2 and further reflections

WOD
13.2 Games Open WOD
5 Shoulder to Overhead 52kgs/35kgs
10 Deadlift 52kgs/35kgs
15 Box jump

After party strength session
5×10 Back squat 50kgs

When I saw the WOD, I wasn’t sure what to think. Sure the 52kgs are a bit heavy for shoulder to overhead, but quite light on the deadlift. I figured if I didn’t stop, I could get a decent score. I was wrong. My back felt a bit funny after the previous Tuesday’s heavy deficit deadlifts, so that was one reason for my distasteful performance of 5 rounds and 2 shoulder to overhead. While I dropped the bar a few times, and did step downs on the box jump rather than rebounding I felt there wasn’t much left to squeeze out of me. I am now a solid 3 spots from the bottom of the team. I thought I could do better than that. Scratch that, I thought I was better than that.

It got me thinking as to what was lacking. I’ve got decent technique, strength needs a bit of improvement I guess, and so would my conditioning. But how do I improve them? Doesn’t seem like my 3 days a week isn’t enough. I’ve always thought that I’ve not met my full potential yet. And it seems that I’m way off of that. The final question is which path do I take?

13.3 will be released in a little over 24 hours. I will be able to attempt that with the folks here in London but I will be heading back to the Motherland for 3 weeks for business and I am quite apprehensive about that. I tend to lose whatever gains I’ve made every time I travel, and at my current state, I fear I might be going backwards rather than forwards.

Leave a Reply

