Burpees got in the way

Strength
3×10 Front Squat (50kgs, 40kgs)
1RM Snatch (62.5kgs, 30kgs)

WOD
15 minute cap
10 rounds
100m run
10 Deadlift 85kgs, 55kgs
10 Push up

You got that right… 62.5kgs snatch! PB! But I’m getting ahead of myself. We first did 3×10 Front squats and I was initially thinking of doing 60kgs or maybe even 70kgs. However I wasn’t feeling it, and decided to stay safe and stuck with 50kgs. It wasn’t difficult, but it wasn’t easy either.

It was off to some snatch drills then on to trying for a 1RM. I started off doing 40kgs to warm up, and a few more on the 50kgs. No more faffing about and I went straight to 60kgs. I failed on the first attempt, but nailed it on the second! It was a bit of a surprise too! Nobody was looking and I just let out a scream and started dancing around the gym. Goal done, and with the push from Chris I decided to give 62.5kgs a try. It came up on the second attempt as well, I think. I tried for 65kgs but failed on all attempts, close though. So that will be my new target.

The WOD was horrible with the heavy (for us) deadlifts. Socs managed only 7 rounds plus a run while I finished 6 rounds plus a run. The deadlifts got me bad as I had to do them standing over a 10kg plate. I ended up doing singles on the last round with my back tightening up a bit.

Leave a Reply

