Scotty, I need more power!

Nerd Alert! This post contains some geeky references, you have been warned

Socs and I have had our physical assessment and again it all validates what we’ve experience during our WODs. For me, Captain Kirk’s immortal words ring loudly. Scotty, I need more power!

Let me tell you why…

Power equals Work divided by Time. Meaning the less time you do the same amount of work, the more Power you produce (or need). But given that time is relatively constant, after all 1 second is always 1 second (and a 10 minute AMRAP is always 10 minutes), I basically need to improve the amount of work I do in that span of time.

Work is defined as Force times Distance. Again distance is relatively constant, ground to over head will always be however high I can bring my hands up. So the only variable left is how much Force I can produce over that distance.

Force (not the Star Wars kind) is Mass times Acceleration. Acceleration can be a number of things, gravity or the rotational velocity of a rowing machine for example, but essentially not really under my control. Which leaves me to Mass. Ah yes, mass, weight, kilograms, plates, dumbells, kettlebells. With all else being equal, all I need to do is lift heavier weights to produce more Work, ergo more Power. Scotty, I need more power!

If I can do that then I WILL BE A BEAST! I definitely need to get stronger…. way stronger.

Post inspired partly by Nerd Fitness

Leave a Reply

