Should’ve, Would’ve, Could’ve

Warm Up
Star run

Strength
Deadlift 8-8-8-8-8plus (60kgs, last set 12 reps)
then
5×1 Clean and Jerk (50kgs)

WOD
10 minute AMRAP
15 Unbroken KB swings (20kg)
5 Strict Pull ups

200m medball run penalty for breaking KB swings

I was quite excited for the day’s session but as soon as we got started, I was thrown a curve ball by the British summer. It was sweltering hot! I believe it was up to 30 degrees, which is quite a departure from the last few weeks of rain. In any case, I believe I could and should have gone to 70kgs on the deadlift as 60 was relatively easy and not really 65% of my working 1RM (which was the aim). I could have probably done more than 12 reps on the last set but I was losing form a bit, probably due to the grip.

Same story on the clean and jerk. 60kgs would probably have been more appropriate as 50kgs wasn’t much of a challenge (sorry for sounding cocky there).

The WOD was just right though. I have always been breaking my reps into sets of 5s or 10s, but this called for 15 unbroken heavy swings. I managed to do that for 4 rounds, but mentally I was struggling a bit and my grip was getting close to failing as well. I had to take the bullet and do the penalty run on round 5. I definitely need to work on my mental toughness as well as my grip. I managed a decent score I think, as my goal was 5 or 6 and I could have probably done 6 if not for the run.

Leave a Reply

