Boracay Body Part 28: A long night

Strength
7×2 Heavy Deadlift (110kgs)

Pre WOD
3x Max Deadhang pullups + 1 minute rest

WOD
20 Minute AMRAP
6 Push ups
12 KB swings (24kgs)
18 Goblet Squat (24kgs)
Star run

Post WOD
5 minutes max double unders (50ish)

I was sort of glad it was heavy deadlifts for the strength session yesterday, I felt relatively strong and was able to bang out good reps at 110kgs. I tried for 120kgs (my PB) on the last set but failed to get it past my knees. I was either overthinking things or got burned out or probably it was just one of those days, everyday is not a PB day. I may still need a bit of work to get past 120kgs.

It was then to pull ups which I also need a bit of work. Not just with the strength aspect but also with technique, yes even a simple pull up has technique to it.

Then it was on to the main WOD 20, I grabbed the 24Kg kettlebell as this was the only way I can improve (plus 12 swings isn’t too bad, plus I didn’t want to incur the Wrath of Kat… just kidding). Looked ok at the beginning, until we had to go out for a run. I hate running, I wasn’t in the mood for running so the running held me back. 6 push ups? Easy. 12 KB swings? Not too bad actually. 18 goblet squats? I can dealwith that. Star run? Fuckin’ hell. I had to walk maybe half of the last star run as I was getting pretty bad stitches, I managed to finish 4 rounds in a little over 20 minutes. Still need more improvement.

Then 5 more minutes of double unders. I was able to do a few sets of 5-6 I think. I was just going through the motions as I am still recovering from an ankle injury, which I think is recovering well. So hopefully I can get some more double under practice and get that bloody thing off the list.

Leave a Reply

