Boracay Body Part 25: I could blame Alex

Warm up
Squat technique

Skills
Hand stand practice

WOD 1
1 minute AMRAP handstand push up + 400m row
40 second AMRAP handstand push up + 400m row
20 second AMRAP handstand push up + 400m row

WOD 2
Mini Fran
15-12-9
KB thruster 16kg
Pull up (strict-ish)

Finisher
50 Situps
50 Knees to elbows

After a quick round of air squats and wall squats, we proceeded to do some handstand practice and progressions for hand-stand push ups. It was nice to play around with kicking up to a handstand and see how much effort I actually need to get fully inverted and work on the proper body positioning once you are there. We then proceeded to work on our handstands and it was nice to see that I can get quite close to the ground, hopefully I can get full depth handstands soon.

For the first WOD I decided to do handstands with 1 Abmat and it was just about right and was able to bang out a few decent ones. I also had to substitute rowing for the run as I’m keeping an eye out for my ankle.

The next WOD was a mini Fran, and while the board said we could blame Alex (one of the members), I was just keen to get on with it. I was up for a good beating. I ended up using 16kg kettlebells which I think was harder than dumbbells (we ran out of 15kgs), if there was a time cap I would have probably done 20kgs just for the sake of it. Like I said, I was up for a good beating. A bit disappointed at myself that I would stop a bit more than I would like, but I think I did ok.

we then finished it all off with a nice ‘ab workout’ with shit loads of sit-ups and knees to elbow. I wasn’t on top of my knees to elbows that night and just did some sort of knees to anywhere and only managed to do 30 odd of those things before Sally called time. Looking forward to a few more of these sessions!

Leave a Reply

