Making Faces

I’ve been a bad blogger and neglected to record my previous workouts. So let me make up for it by recounting two of the recent ones:

Friday April 20 – “Karen” 150 wall balls for time (14 lbs) 

I got this done in 10:29…more than 2 minutes shaved off from my previous Karen! Granted,I still could not get the ball high enough, but it was as close to it as I could.  Thighs were extremely painful after this, but I still managed to try some of the bodyweight movements that we’re testing to determine our levels (will post more on that later on).

Tuesday April 24 – 10 minute AMRAP of 15 burpees and 10 KB swings (16kgs)

There was no debate in my head this time, I was going for it RX.  It would be heavy and it would be painful, but I knew if I just kept that power coming from the hip, I could survive, even if it meant less reps than everyone else.  In 10 minutes I managed 4 rounds + 15 burpees + 6 KB swings…nearly 5 rounds which was what most people got on average.  Not too far off considering I went for the weight.  My burpees still need lots of work.  Lots.

Tuesday was also quite interesting…during the warm up we did a bit of bear crawls…I ended up bruising my left thumb.  I must’ve scraped it against the floor.  Very minor injury but I had it cleaned and wrapped up right away as I didn’t like seeing the blood.  At the end of the WOD, we were supposed to do 10 strict pull ups before leaving.  Since I’ve managed a few jumping pull ups already (the bar was still high up even after the jump so I was pulling myself up properly over the bar — just still cant do it from a hanging position — It will come SOON!) I thought I’d start with that.

So I jumped up and held on to the bar.  At that moment Eamon and the rest of the guys cheered me on and were greeted by my pain face.  The pain face was not because of the effort being exerted to get myself up over the bar.  I had, at that moment, gotten cramps on my right leg with my toe pointing downwards.  I had to ask for help since I couldn’t jump down and land on my leg and Eamon helped me down.  Ignoring the cramp pain, I think that was quite funny.  And slightly embarrassing.

 

Leave a Reply

