Catch Up Before Easter

Counting up: Days 5 thru 10  — This past weekend, I tried my hand at even more cooking and baking.  I made my first ever Banana Nut Bread! (Applause please)  However, these are Paleo, again so the texture was a bit different from what I’m used to.  I think I may have undercooked it a little, but overall, better than what I expected considering its the first time I’ve ever made bread.

Voila!  The finished product:

Image

I know I’ve been bad at updating my workout logs, but before I do, my most important news:   Allan arrives tomorrow to spend Easter weekend here with me 🙂

Okay, now on to the workouts from Monday and today:

Monday
Strength:  Deadlift 5×5 – 50kgs

WOD: 3 Rounds for time —
200m med ball run
10 power cleans (30kgs)
Cash Out:  10 pull-ups (blue band)

In keeping with my promise to try RX the workouts, I went with 30kgs.  What I found really difficult though was the med ball run.  Carrying that ball down and back up that alley was awkward…I didn’t quite know how to properly hold it, I ended up tired soon after the workout started.  That affected my cleans as well, the weight with the fatigue made it really hard.  Finished 3 rounds in 6:38.

Wednesday:
Strength – Push Jerk 5×5 (35kgs)

WOD: 10 minutes AMRAP of
3 ring rows
6 push-ups
9 wall balls

At the back of my head I had the Open games when we did push presses at 35kgs.  I knew I could do the weight but I wasn’t sure if I could do it 5×5.  Apparently I could…I was a bit wobbly on the last set, but I managed to pull it off.

The WOD itself seemed easy when you look at it, but I found myself struggling to make my way to the wall ball area for each set.  My balance was also off in the wall balls so I couldn’t do a continuous string of 9 reps.  Managed 7 rounds + 3 ring rows.

One thought on “Catch Up Before Easter

Leave a Reply

