My chili is better than yours

As part of planning my meals for this week, I grabbed a lot of minced beef from the supermarket over the weekend. I was particularly craving for some chili and decided to go with the recipe from the Everyday Paleo book Socs and I got when we first got into the whole Paleo thing. I wasn’t completely satisfied and it made me wonder if my taste buds have evolved or I was doing things wrong. Then I remembered I had a handwritten recipe in Dublin and was quite popular when we served it to a few of our friends. Luckily, I had some extra minced beef lying around and she walked me through the recipe:

Ingredients
500g minced beef
1 can chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato puree
1 red bell pepper, chopped
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 red onion, chopped
3 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp oregano
2 1/2 tbsp cumin
2 tbsp olive oil
black pepper to taste

1. Brown beef in olive oil in medium high heat
2. Add garlic, onion and red bell pepper. Allow to soften slightly
3. Add chili powder, cumin, oregano and black pepper
4. Add the can of tomatoes. Using the can, fill half with water (or chicken broth) and mix in tomato paste to get some of the tomato juice stuck in the can. Pour everything into the mix
5. Simmer for 30 minutes

Easy peasy, lovely chili. This recipe is actually easier and tastes better than the first recipe I mentioned, which I found to lack that extra oomph you would want from chili. Although the book does contain some great recipes that I always come back to and would still recommend for those who want something to start with.

Now if only I can find a suitable paleo replacement for nachos…

Leave a Reply

