I Don’t Receive Flowers on Valentine’s Day, and I Don’t Mind

Before I continue:  this should NOT in any way discourage Allan and any of my friends from sending me flowers (and/or chocolates, gifts) on Valentine’s Day.  If you ever feel the urge to do send things my way, by all means, go ahead.  It will not go unnoticed 🙂

That out of the way, I need to explain myself. While I have expressly told Allan years ago that we didn’t have to do Valentine’s Day because it wasn’t necessary, I have, on occasion, did ask him why I didn’t even get a “Happy Valentine’s Day” greeting from him.  Yes, women.  You just can’t understand them can you?  In my defense, at the time, I was working in a normal office and was exposed to an entire floor of people sending, receiving gifts and planning dates.  Not receiving the same attention from my husband on that very same day made me feel insecure.  It was silly and childish and thank god I was not like that this year.

So why am I making such a bold statement this year? 

Maybe it’s because yesterday was Valentine’s day and I had no such episode as that which I had just described. 

Maybe its because I’ve reinforced the belief that money is better off spent on something other than flowers.  They’re pretty, for sure, and I have bought quite a bit of them myself occasionally….I think this is just a personality thing though.  I can be really weird like that.

Maybe its because I have egged Allan to buy me chocolates even when on other days of the year. 

Or maybe its because I know that my husband is capable of so much more than being thoughtful and sweet on the day when everyone expects it.

Yes, I think its the last one. 

Anyone who knows Allan knows that he’s not the typical romantic type.  But “typical”  is the operative word here.  He has on numerous occasions shown me how thoughtful he can be.  The gestures that come unexpectedly and for no reason at all are the ones that I truly appreciate and the ones I remember fondly.  I have a feeling that two of those things that I always remember are ones that he has  probably forgotten already or that he wasn’t aware of to begin with.  I guess its just my personality, but it’s the out-of-the-blue ones that mean most to me.

So yes, if I don’t receive anything on Feb 14th, I really don’t mind.  I have other things to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

