Boracay Body Part 10: Two And A Half Ton Jack

Warm-up
3 rounds
30 second Samson Stretch (each side)
Around 5 Pull ups
Around 5 Ring dips
10 OHS (20kgs)
Around 10 Sit ups

Experiment
1 minute max effort deadlift (30kgs)
then
3 minute max effort deadlift (50kgs or approximately 35% 1RM)

WOD
12 minute AMRAP
9 Box Jumps
6 DB Thrusters (10kg dumbells)
6 Burpees

It was a cold night in London after snowing over the weekend, so we were off to a decent start with the warm-up session. Then came a sort of strength/conditioning experiment by Andrew on figuring out what the magic number is for power output work, meaning how much weight can you push/pull/carry over a period of time. We started off with an insignificant weight, max rep for 1 minute. I did 33. Then based on your 1RM, pick percentage of that and do max reps in 3 minutes. Andrew put in 138kgs as my 1RM (when I said it was 130kgs, but probably below that, but really I have no idea… confusing isn’t it) and boiled down to doing 50kgs. I managed to do 51 reps. That meant that over 3 minutes I was able to lift 2,550kgs. That is definitely a lot of work. My back felt a little tight, I guess more technique is in order.

Then it was onto the WOD. Even before starting, I wasn’t feeling good. It must have been the Subway sandwich I had for lunch. I’ve come to realize that every time I eat something that isn’t as healthy as it should, my performance gets affected. I only managed 5 rounds plus 2 burpees. I think I did a pretty good job pushing through the thrusters but my burpee left a lot to be desired. I am quite looking forward to the strict Paleo challenge and see how my body reacts to it and start taking names during the WOD. In the meantime it’s time for dinner…

Leave a Reply

