Boracay Body Part 6: Fran and then some

Warm up
Wet run to the star (400m?)

Skill/Strength
Squat Snatch 2-2-2-2-2- (30kgs)
Perform 25 Knees to elbows and 25 GHD back extensions throughout

WOD
Fran (10 minute cap)
21-15-9
Thruster (40kgs)
Pull ups

3 minute rest

40-30-20-10
Double Unders
Box jump
KB Swings (24kgs)

I was having a bad day at work so I was sort of looking forward to banging some weights and taking names tonight, but when Kat said we were doing 2 WODs I was a little scared. Then I saw it was Fran, I didn’t care about the second WOD I knew Fran was going to suck. I tried it out two years ago but wussed out.

I decided to go for 40kgs on this (Rx was 42.5kgs) and took it easy on the pull ups making sure I didn’t tear my hands again. Thrusters suck as usual, I definitely need to work on them. I think I hit the 10 minute cap after doing 8 of the 15 pull ups. It was then off to WOD 2 after 3 minutes rest. I was hoping my double unders would improve but no dice there, was able to string only 2-3 at a time at most. And I lost time on box jumps, I’m just not efficient enough in getting up and down the box. I think I did ok on the 24kgs kettlebell swings though, stringing 10 a little higher than eye level with good form. I can say I’m not afraid of them anymore, thanks to Kat for forcing them on me (although this time I took the initiative and went for them on my own).

Mixed feelings on the workout though. I felt a little disappointed in how I did, I only got to 27 of the 30 box jumps. Makes me want to go back and do it all over again, which I guess is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

