Getting Back Into It

So, after more than a month away from MET CONS and weights, I finally got around to coming back to Ronin.

Warm Up: 5 mins double under practice, arm swings, bootstrappers,rollovers, bear walk, wall squats

Strength:
Front Squats 5 x 3 (30kgs)

WOD:
3 Rounds of —
2 minutes double unders (43, 47, 50)
2 minutes rest

I originally thought of coming over for open gym so I can test how much of my strength I’ve lost, but after seeing what was in store on the website, I summoned up enough courage to go for it.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could do 30kgs on the front squat.  For some reason I had thought I would be stuck at 20kgs.  I did feel the effects of not having done squats for a month though as I could feel it on my thighs.  Also the weight was heavy enough that on my last round, I struggled to get those last few reps in.

For the double unders, I still can’t consistently do them.  I did get a decent rhythm of having singles mixed in with double unders, I think.  I managed to do 43 on the first round, 47 on the second and a nice round 50 on the last.

Not only did I manage to get a workout in and come back to Crossfit, I also signed up for a trek on Sunday.  Yep, weeks later, I’m climbing another mountain.  I don’t know why I do this to myself, really.

Leave a Reply

