Back to basics

I’ve been very busy with work lately so I haven’t been able to post anything about our trip to Nepal, things are starting to get exciting at this point the story. But before that a little housekeeping to do with regards to going back to training.

November 15, 2010
Warm-up
Double under practice

Strength
Clean and Jerk (max 65kgs)

WOD
21-15-9
Pull-ups
KB Swings 20kgs
DB Thrusters 10kg each hand

Finisher
50 Double Unders (or attempts)

I took the foundations classes on this one, which was a watered down version of the normal class. I decided to go a quite heavy on the clean and jerks as this is probably one of my strongest moves. And surprisingly I was able to do 65kgs without too much of an issue (I tried 70kgs, but I think that was too ambitious). Form definitely has some improvements, but overall I was chuffed. The WOD deceptively looked easy so I took on the heavy KB and DBs, but I was wrong. Those DB thrusters are evil and I was taking loads of rest all throughout the WOD. I may have pushed my body a bit much as I was having cramps on my calf which meant I could only do 15 (lousy) double under attempts.

November 17, 2010
Warm-up
2 rounds
10 Shoulder dislocates
10 OHS
10 Shoulder dislocates at bottom of squat

Strength
4×5 OHS (maxed at 30kgs for 2 sets)

WOD
10 Rounds (20 minute cap)
15 Deadlift 50kgs
15 Push ups

Do 50 Knees to elbows and 50 GHD back extensions during the class at your own pace

I decided to do the normal class this time round, hoping that Kat would take it easy on me. The class was a lot of work but at least it wasn’t complicated. The OHS felt immediately heavy with a bar so I could only manage 30kgs max, at least I know I need to improve on this. The knees to elbows surprisingly felt easy, and I was able to split these into 10 reps in between the OHS effort. The WOD was deceptively evil with the push ups being the culprit of me finishing only 7 rounds + 2 push ups. I guess the deadlifts took it’s toll but I was able to do split it up nicely and wasn’t really a sticking point.

Leave a Reply

