Pacing

Benchmark
Find 1RM on Power Cleans – 75kgs

Strength
2-2-2-2-2 Deadlift max at 110kgs

WOD
500m row
30 Burpees
10 Shoulder to overhead, pick up from the floor (57.5kgs – 70-75% of 1RM)

Less than 2 weeks before our grand adventure and I am still going hard during the WODs. My training plan was to take it easy on the last 2 weeks to avoid overtraining or injury but I just can’t help myself. I’ll have to keep that in mind the next time I go to the box.

Good thing I didn’t try to go overboard on the 1RM power cleans, I think I could have probably had a go at 80kgs. That would have potentially brought the WOD weight to 60kgs! I was able to pace myself decently on the 500m row and felt good coming off it, then the burpees came. I used to say I hate thrusters more than burpees, but I think burpees are making a comeback. Nick did an awesome job in doing all his 30 in one go, if only I can keep up with his pace. The weight for the shoulder to overhead was heavy to say the least, it is actually a little more than 75% (I’m trying to get credit here). All the good work I had at this point was thrown away, I just wanted to get the 10 reps done with that I didn’t concentrate on the technique. I should have done split jerks (and proper ones at that) and concentrated on getting the bar to shoulder more efficiently (maybe squat clean or hang power clean). I did it in 7minutes and 30 something second I think. Ok time, but I know I could have done better.

Leave a Reply

