A leg up on the competition

Strength/Skill
2-2-2-2-2-2 Snatch (40kgs)
Muscle up progression and kipping pull-ups

WOD
15 minute AMRAP
10 Single leg step up with 10kg sandbag (5 per leg)
10 second L-sit
10 Jumping squat with 10kg sandbag

It has been a while since we did snatches with a barbell so I had no idea what weight to throw around. I was paired with David and we stuck at around the 35kg weight to work on our technique. I think I got it down a bit so I can probably increase the weight a bit more next time around. I’ve also lost the little technique I had in kipping pull-ups so I need to work on that if ever it comes up on future WODs.

The WOD itself was a good preparation for our upcoming Nepal trip. It was a leg blaster with additional weight, a perfect simulation of trekking in the Himalayas. I managed to do 11 rounds and 10 step-ups. I felt ok through it all and did not stop… paused for a bit to get the blood going on the legs, but that was it. I also did not sit or lie down after the WOD, even though it was a leg killer. Like in a boxing/MMA match, both fighters raise their hands and walk about giving the impression that they’ve won. I’m trying to get into that mentality of not being defeated by a WOD even though it sucked. It’s not just the physical aspect I want to train but also the psychological. We’ll see how I get on with this one.

Leave a Reply

