Last WOD

Skills
Deadlift, High Pull, Power Clean technique

Strength
Front Squat (Power clean from floor)
2 Warm-up sets, 3 attempts at 5RM (70kgs, 25kgs)

Pre-WOD
3 Rounds
3 Pull-ups
3 Ring Dips
3 Squats

WOD
15 minute AMRAP
3 Pull-ups (Strict)
6 Ring Dips (Hollow)
12 Squats

I think I like this format for working out in the box. First up is we did some review of techniques on the deadlift, high-pull and power clean. I know these might seem boring at times, especially with low weights but I like the fact that my brain gets drilled on doing things properly. It also neurologically sets my body up for when I start lifting heavy (yes Phil, I got that big word from you). All that paid dividends when I cleaned 70kgs and on to 5 front squats. I had no idea what my power clean max was so doing my 5RM front squat weight was the short term goal. I missed it on my first attempt, but a big thanks to Simon for the encouragement and reminder of getting under the bar. I was a little caught off guard at first, but again its all in the technique. I may have tried for a higher weight but I think I was doing a bit more of a squat clean if the weight went any higher. Looking back at my notes, I think this one is a new personal best for a squat clean/power clean. Woohoo!

This was Socs’ last day training with Phillip as he is now moving on to greener pastures, we wish him all the best and will miss his sense of humor. Well at least for Socs, I have to put up with him for two more sessions… just kidding. It was a nice WOD of gymnastic moves, which I haven’t done in a while. The ring dips was my weakness here, and while I tried doing the hollow position ring dips as prescribed I had to revert to using bands after a few rounds. I am keen on improving that hollow position though. I did manage to get in 11 rounds and Socs got 8, I think we are improving on our met-con performance but we definitely have a long way to go.

Leave a Reply

