EBC Gear Series 3: Tops

Figuring out what a good combination of tops was quite an endeavour for a guy who’s only gear for trekking back home is a short sleeve cotton shirt. We had to worry about insulation, waterproofing and wind proofing. In the end we settled for the following:

His
1 Tog24 zipneck long sleeve shirt
1 Lagalag long sleeve trek shirt
1 National Geographic long safari sleeve shirt
1 Patagonia Guide softshell jacket
1 TNF Genesis Fleece jacket
1 TNF Flight series waterproof jacket
1 TNF Point Five Jacket

Hers
1 Tog24 zipneck long sleeve shirt
1 Trek shirt (to buy)
1 National Geographic long safari sleeve shirt
1 TNF Windwall jacket
1 Sprayway jacket
1 TNF Resolve Jacket (not in picture)
1 TNF Point Five Jacket

You definitely need 2 trek shirts for the duration, Socs needs to buy 1 more and I got a Lagalag trek shirt before I headed over here. I’ve always been keen on supporting the local (Philippine) brands especially with the basics, they’re cheap and they’ll get the job done so.

At the same time I’ve been a fan of the National Geographic store here in London ever since I saw it so I just had to get me one of their iconic safari shirts. And they were on sale to boot! Socs couldn’t find a safari shirt similar to mine that was on sale, but she got a very nice shirt ( a little too nice for the mountains I say). Things are pretty expensive on this store so it was sale or bust.

For insulation, fleece is the name of the game. Socs got her nice pink Sprayway kids fleece and I got my basic black TNF. For wind proofing, Socs got the very nice TNF Windwall which has a bit of insulation as well. I opted for the lighter Patagonia softshell which I’ve always been using for slightly cold days in Dublin and here in the UK.

For waterproofing, I’ve always used my TNF flight series jacket ever since I bought it in Vermont. It’s been up Mt. Mansfield (VT, USA), up Mt. Pulag (Benguet, Philippines) and the general wet weather back home. Socs bought her TNF Resolve jacket for the spitting Irish rain. But considering we are heading up the mountains of the Himalayas, we needed something better. Enter the TNF Point Five jacket. 0.5kgs of pure mountaineering waterproofness. We’ve tested these on our Silverstone F1 trip and well, they work. We are still bringing our lightweight waterproof jackets as reserve layers, won’t cost us much weight anyway.

Leave a Reply

