Can’t count for squat

Warm-up, Skills and Strength
Squat Clean
5-3-3-1-1-1 (max 65kgs)

WOD
10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Front Squats (40kgs)
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Push Jerk
3 strict pull-ups between sets

Feels great to be back in the box and today I learned a new skill, the squat clean. This was the first time I did this and I think I performed decently. I managed to squat clean pretty much my body weight as my 1RM. I still need to work on explosively opening my hips as one of the trainers pointed out. Based on this experience, the only way I can ‘train’ the ‘explosive hips’ is to go heavier as this forces you to explode the hips.

The workout was quite good as I’ve missed this sort of format on WODs. I started off with 45kgs but stripped it down to 40kgs as my legs were burning after the 3rd round and was having a few ‘no-reps’. I had a bit of a problem with the push jerks and was doing push presses thinking that as soon as I get it over with the better and the fact that my legs were killing me. But there was a reason why push jerks was programmed, it was easier. I got the technique covered on most reps but I was getting tired and that was screwing my cognitive capabilities (yes, that’s a big word).

I was particularly proud of the pull-ups as I did the prescribed 3 pull-ups after each round strictly, hopefully this would translate to my pull-ups getting better. I finished the 7th round which I think is not bad for 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

