Vital statistics

As part of my corporate benefits, I am entitled to a health assessment and I jumped at the opportunity to see how physically fit/healthy I am.

Aside from the usual urine/blood tests, health questionnaires and physical check-up there was an exercise test and ECG test which I was looking forward to. Unfortunately I forgot to bring my phone with me so I don’t have a picture of myself hooked up with all the ECG stuff. I felt like Captain America right about that time.

So for the results:
30 yrs old
5’7″ 65.30kgs

22 BMI which is smack right in the middle of the desirable range. 10% fat, which is lower than average and a 45% waist/height ratio also in the middle of the desirable range.

My basal metabolic rate is 1818kcals. I have no idea if this is high or low.

My lung’s forced vital capacity (FVC) is 3.71L (93% of predicted), whilst my FEV1 (or amount exhaled in one second is 4.85L or (103% of predicted). My FEV1/FVC ratio is 76% (94% of predicted). Normal ratio is between 70% to 80% so I am quite average.

My blood work shows 116.2mmol/l, where the ideal is 64-104. My blood will be sent to a different facility for verification of this. Total Cholesterol is 5.9mmol/l (ideal is 5) and LDL Cholesterol is 4.3mmol/l (ideal is 3). The doctor said to change my diet a bit and move away from red meat, and I was planning on adding more fish as well as fruits and vegetables to my diet.

Blood pressure is 102/66. Blood pressure response to physical activity is normal.

VO2 max is 39 ml/kg/min which is a moderate level of fitness. Flexibility is marked at 24cms which is on the cusp of being above average. Grip strength is 72kgf which is a low average.

The results of my exercise test definitely points me in the direction on where I can improve or push myself. I would like my VO2 max to increase a bit. My heart rate increase during exercise looks good but I need to increase my heart’s efficiency. My breathing response is a bit sharp when the going gets tough, which is confirmed by my experiences in WODs. I have a decent lung efficiency. My metabolism graph looks weird as I primarily tap on carbohydrates at low and high intensity but dip to take in fat energy in the middle. I don’t have much fat in me so I guess that could be an explanation.

So what is all this mumbo jumbo all about? Well to put it simply, I am fit enough to push hard during exercises as my heart/lungs can cope with the stress but still a bit off from being “athletic” which is definitely a goal of mine. I just need to train my breathing patterns and cardiovascular systems to improve the numbers as well as maintaining my strength. Sounds like Crossfit training doesn’t it?

One thought on “Vital statistics

Leave a Reply

