Ring of Kerry

Not the best photo in the world, but I'll take it. The Skellig Monks Monument - monks depicted on their vessel en route to the Skellig islands, joined by a local in a more modern vehicle enjoying his paper in view of our tour bus.

I decided to tag along with some friends who booked a day tour of the Ring of Kerry from Dublin.  I knew that it would be a long day as this was quite far from Dublin, but I was still surprised that it took as long as it did.

Anyone who would like to see what the fuss is about on Ireland’s green, rugged landscape should drive around the Ring of Kerry.  Tours groups are recommended for those who lack time or can’t drive (that second bit would be for me!).  However, getting your own car would be the best option as you can veer off your route, go somewhere nearby altogether or ditch your schedule in exchange for a  few more minutes of taking in the view and communing with nature.  Expect to see wonderful hillside and mountain range views along with exhilarating seascapes.

This tour for me was a “taster” of what can be visited again in the future.  I’ve Killarney National Park and possibly the Skelling Islands on my list already, now its time to find out what my schedule is…

Leave a Reply

