Go the extra mile

Drills and Skills:

Press, Push Press, Push Jerk + a little review of deadlifts and pull-ups

WOD:
10 minutes AMRAP
9 Deadlifts (30 kgs)
12 Push-Ups
15 Box Jumps

Attended my first Women’s Crossfit session today at Crossfit London UK and for the first time ever, I did not wake up on a workout day dreading the session. I’ve always liked the idea of having an all-women’s session and its part of the reason why I decided to give CF London a try. Somehow having all women in the session has less pressure for me to not hold back or delay the mixed session.

And it did help. I was able to focus more on what I wanted to achieve rather than focusing on not being the last one to end or the newbie who needs to review all the skills. I did lighter weights on the deadlift compared to a previous WOD, but I made sure I made up for it by doing as many rounds as I could. I also tried to do as many “real” push-ups (i.e. no knees) and ended up using the knee only for half of my last round. The box jumps, well I’ve always been afraid of them, this time I concentrated on just getting over the fear and just jumping.

I did four rounds + 9 deadlifts – yay for me! Oh and I also got another photo on the website (photo courtesy of Crossfit London UK):

Socs Working a Push Up

Socs Working a Push Up

Leave a Reply

