Fan boy

As I’ve mentioned in my previous post, I booked myself a spot in Carl Paoli’s seminar at Thames Crossfit yesterday and it was quite an experience. A good 30 or so trainers, athletes and bums (like me) was there to bask in his awesomeness. But I wasn’t there to marvel at how easy it wa for him to do a freestanding hands stand or that he had unbelievable body control. I was there to learn.

And I did learn. It was something new and yet at the same time something I think I already knew. Quite refreshing, actually. I know I’m not the strongest person, but I do try to keep the technique correct. It’s now just a matter of applying that technique skillfully and trusting in your body that gets you further than you would think possible.

So we went through a few movements and dissecting each to its core elements and see the connection across those seemingly varied movements. Hollow body, handstands, handstand push ups, pull-ups, sit-ups, ring rows, hip extension and flexion, muscle ups, rope climbs, burpees… all these things are relatively simple yet we look at them as varying movements and complexity. But at the end of the day it is a matter of proper movement.

A key thing I got out of that seminar was that I am on the right track. Learn to move and move to learn. It’s all about experience and what works. And there is no final answer to the question on how can I improve, you can’t find it in a book. As the master himself said, you are the book. Its all a matter of having a go at it and making sure you come out of the end unharmed and hopefully improve a bit.

Leave a Reply

